Just a short one

 

A really short post this morning as I reflected on what happened yesterday. Yesterday was disaster day spelt with a capital D. Everything that could possibly go wrong, went wrong, and by the end of the day (I ended my day at 6pm), I was frustrated beyond measure, extremely annoyed and I had no one to take it out on.

I got sick, my SIM card died on me, I became uncontactable, customer service decided to be mean to me, I could barely breathe because my whole nose system was just gone, and people kept asking why was I in school and I was like, because I hate to play catch up. It was beyond frustrating and when I got home, I couldn’t have asked for a better time to get into a squabble with my mom over petty matters. Basically it was a crappy day through and through. So I cleared some work, barely alive by the 10pm mark, and crashed.

The next morning I woke up and the first song I played on the playlist on shuffle was What A Friend We Have In Jesus. The lyrics suddenly rang out:

Oh, what peace we often forfeit,
Oh, what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer!

I stopped and stared at the words. I realised how I could’ve dealt with yesterday SO differently. I felt silly, I have God as my God, but I did not know how to carry everything to Him in prayer. I tried to solve everything but, it didn’t work. God wanted to show me that I should’ve carried everything to Him in prayer. I apparently never seem to learn this lesson so God uses my bad circumstances to teach it to me. I felt touched that He was so faithful, that even though I never went back to the right source for help, He would extend His hand to show me He is Able. I pray for grace to trust Him, that instead of trying and picking myself up, I’ll not be so stubborn but learn to ask for help from Him.

I guess simple lessons like this does teach one a lot about themselves.

Leave a Reply

