EN2203: Introduction to Film

Overall comments:
This was a fun and chill mod. For a level 2, I spent it watching movies so yes it was enjoyable. I didn’t really dig movies before the module so I took it to be convinced that movies were worth watching. I’m convinced now. The module covers the basics of film – cinematography, camera angle, lighting, sound, etc before going to the more academic side of things which is different approaches to film such as the Auteur Theory and Spectatorship. I personally enjoyed learning how to break film down into these basic components and it was overall pretty interesting.

Workload:
For a level 2 module, it is very chill. One midterm in class test, barely any readings except for Multimedia Conglomeration and Spectatorship (week 10/11), one tutorial facilitation where you come up with a short proposal and write a report about the facilitation when you’re done with it, and one finals. Pretty much that’s it. You watch movies every Monday so I don’t think it’s a very tiring workload if you get to watch movies.Tutorials? Just participate in discussions, it ain’t that hard. Class part is 20%, tutorial facilitation is 20%, midterms and final essay worth 30% each.

Exams:
One midterm class test and no finals Woohoo!

Rating on Esther’s scale, is it worth to do this module:
Yes very much indeed, film is that aspect not many people actually study so why not take it – 8/10

Final grade

4 thoughts on “EN2203: Introduction to Film

  1. Hello! I chanced upon your mod review and I wanted to ask what kinds of movies you watched in the module, and whether you were able to find them prior to the screening in school– were those screenings compulsory? Also, was the module graded on a curve, and if so, did you find it hard to score well? 🙂 Thank you for answering these questions haha! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hello! I chanced upon your mod review and I wanted to ask what kinds of movies you watched in the module, and whether you were able to find them prior to the screening in school– were those screenings compulsory? Also, was the module graded on a curve, and if so, did you find it hard to score well?:) Thank you for answering these questions haha!:)

    Like

    1. Hello,
      We watched all kinds of movies, from Batman to Alfred Hitchcock to some funky french black and white movie. Was I able to find them online, yes I was. Those screenings are not compulsory, however, if you don’t watch in lecture, be sure to catch them on your own because they will be discussion in tutorial. The module was graded on a curve, as are quite a few arts modules, almost all. Did I find it hard to score well, I guess to a certain extent, however I took this module out of pure interest and I think there was not much pressure on me! (: Hope you find it useful

      Like

Leave a Reply

