EN3242: History of Film

Taken in:
AY16/17 Semester 2

Lecturer:
A/P Valerie Wee
Tutor: Phoebe Pua

What the module is about, briefly:
History of film. Isn’t it self-explanatory? HAHA. A brief coverage (not in depth) about the different historical backgrounds of film in America, Japan, Russia, Germany, France, Italy. You can choose to focus on any of them later.

Texts:
FILMS* (Ranging from SILENT FILMS to Sound ones),
1. A Trip to the Moon
2. Broken Blossoms
3. The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari
4. Battleship Potempkin
5. Bringing Up Baby
6. The Rules of the Game
7. Sunset Boulevard
8. The Bicycle Thief
9. The 400 Blows
10. Late Spring
11. The Graduate (I think this was changed, I’m not sure, don’t remember)

Workload:
HAHA. I would say it is tiring but interesting. The most tiring part is perhaps keeping up with the movies, because you’ll need to watch them so you can talk in tutorial, and also, the research part for the group/pair report concerning the various topics (pick one). I did Russian cinema: Constructivism, so that was pretty interesting, though energy-sapping. Final essay requires more in depth thought and research, but if you pick something you like, it isn’t too bad 🙂 I did Doctor Strange (and linked it to Film Noir) and I did pretty okay! (YAY).

Format of assessment:
100% CA:
1. Tutorial participation (20%)
2. Tutorial facilitation (10%)
3. Group Written Report (20%)
4. Research paper – Annotated Biblio (10%), Abstract (10%), Essay (30%)

Project/Presentation:
Presentation centers on the movie of your choice, you have to engage the class in a discussion concerning the movie for that week, you can choose to break the class into groups to discuss various topics in the movie. There are guiding questions so you do not have to worry. The group written report will probably be linked to the movie of your choice (or it may not be, as well). 

Comments on lecturer:
Here is where I shall sing the praises of Prof Wee and my tutor.
Prof Wee: she’s extremely approachable and helpful with the topics you choose to write on, comments on essays and reports are constructive. Her lectures are engaging and interesting. And she’s super nice (I can’t even)
Phoebe: She’s kinda like Prof Wee, and since I got her in tutorial, I’ll say she’s very insightful and proffers useful comments and also does this little thing where she contextualises every national cinema and gives you important dates you should know about each cinema. She does this every week. Also, she’s very good with time management so we always end on time and yet there’s a very fruitful discussion, so I appreciate that immensely.

Exam difficulty:
Just workload, no major exams.
It’s spaced out through the semester so requires a fair but of stamina and much less space for last minute work.

Recommended:
YES. If you like film, yes. If you don’t, (like me), you can still listen it is worth listening to, and then pick a topic you like and work on it. I did film noir and Doctor Strange because I happened to really like both. I wanted to do Marvel but I didn’t in the end because there was just a better option (and I changed my topic like last minute after I finished full annotated biblio and abstract and all because I just felt like it, and Prof Wee let me do it, she talked me through changing the topic and everything worked out). So I hope I have successfully convinced you to do it!!!!!!!!

Overall rating (/10):
8/10

Leave a Reply

